The ECP Investigator Award 2019

In March 2019, Mallinckrodt announced the recipient of the 2019 Investigator Award – Newcastle University, in collaboration with Medical University, Graz and Newcastle Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. The winning entry was submitted by co-investigator Dr. Rachel Crossland, alongside collaborators Prof. Anne Dickinson, Prof. Hildegard Greinix and Dr. Aisling Flinn.

Mallinckrodt developed the Investigator Award to mark 30 years of its pioneering THERAKOS ECP ImmunomodulationTM. The honour reflects the company’s ongoing commitment to the science of immunomodulation through ECP and its therapeutic applications.

This year’s winner was revealed at the THERAKOS ECP ImmunomodulationTM symposium at EBMT 2019 in Frankfurt. Upon receiving the award, Dr. Crossland said “we are honoured to receive the Investigator Award and thrilled that it allows us to look at a potential new pathway into how ECP impacts or modulates immune responses in patients”. Alongside the award, the team will receive an educational grant of €50,000 to further support their research.

The honourees’ 12-month study will investigate the impact of ECP immunomodulation on extracellular vesicles and their profiles in response to therapy in patients with GvHD. A major complication affecting between 40-70% of Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplant (HSCT) patients, severe GvHD carries a high mortality rate.1

1. Jagasia M, Arora M, Flowers ME, et al. Risk factors for acute GVHD and survival after hematopoietic cell transplantation, Blood. 2012 Jan 5;119(1):296-307. doi: 10.1182/blood-2011-06-364265. Epub 2011 Oct 18.

This site is intended for healthcare professionals in Europe (excluding France), LATAM, Singapore and Saudi Arabia.

Please verify your status below.

I'm sorry, you are not authorized to access the content of this website